Favorite picture books for fall reading

          mood-board-01

There is something about the early October that makes us want to collectively call in sick and hide away, cozy in blankets and warm beverages.  The three of us are the most home bodied people you could ever meet (I feel like we should explain to Juniper one day that her tendency to say “let’s just stay home” whenever asked what she would like to go out and do is genetic. Also, I am sure I will be oh so thankful if that genetic trait is still around at 13 or so).  We each have a stack of books we are looking forward to reading.  Some of Juniper’s that are on a constant rotation are:

In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak. We all love Sendak’s storytelling (Juniper’s first birthday party was a Where the Wild Things Are theme) but what really gets me each time in this story are the illustrations.  They are mesmerizing.  Juniper right now follows along and loves the story.  I don’t think it will be much longer though before she notices all of the details in the drawings.

Stormy Night by Salina Yoon.  Found, the first bear and bunny story was such a favorite that I ended up hiding it for a while.  (I am hoping I am not the only one who has resorted to this!) The second book following bear and bunny though is a sweet and empowering story about overcoming a fear and comforting others.  I love the friendship between the two and Juniper really enjoys watching bear become very brave in the face of his fear of the storm.

A Treasury of Curious George by Margret and H.A. Rey.  I did not grow up reading Curious George, and the first time I read the very first one to Juniper I laughed out loud at George’s trip to prison, because I couldn’t believe what I had just spoken!  (Also, when George is smoking a pipe Juniper thought he was drinking coffee, and I felt that was a safe lie). I love this treasury though.  We usually read two stories a night, and there is something about a spunky, mischievous monkey that Juniper really identifies with.

Have You Seen My Dragon? by Steve Light. Nick found this book at a recent trip to Powell’s in Portland and it is an instant favorite.  I love anything with intriguing illustrations because I think they really challenge children to become engage in a story on a whole new level.  As you search through each page to find the dragon, Juniper also identifies colors, tells stories about what she is seeing and helps count.  Plus the dragon is adorable.

Finding Wild by Megan Wagner Lloyd.  I will admit, this probably is not on Juniper’s top 10 list currently.  But it will be.  Likely because I want to read this story every night.  I love the message behind it and again, the illustrations.  They are really unique and tell the story along with the words.

These are some of our favorite picture books right now!

Leave a Reply

